Friday, August 12, 2011

Britt Orchestra / Time for Three

Friday, August 12, 2011 • 8 p.m.
R. STRAUSSDon Juan, Op. 20
HIGDONConcerto 4-3
BEETHOVEN           Symphony No. 5
Photo by Vanessa Briceno-Scherzer
“You don’t even need to know a whole lot about classical music to be blown away by these three.”— Melia Tourangeau (Utah Symphony/Opera)
Ground-breaking Time for Three (Tf3) started as a trio of students (two violins & bass) at Philadelphia’s Curtis Institute of Music. After considerable experimentation with blending bluegrass and jazz improvisation, the three formed Tf3, an exciting new ensemble with a unique sound. Their high energy and extraordinary music-making has led to multiple creative collaborations. The Concerto 4-3 was composed for them by Jennifer Higdon, winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Music.
Take a look at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra's program notes on Concerto 4-3, including Higdon's own notes.
Join Don Matthews, Classical Music Director at Jefferson Public Radio, in the lower Britt gardens at 7 p.m. for a Q&A with guest trio Time for Three.
For more information on the guest artists, visit

Table Rock City Stage performer: Schoenard Trio

Schoenard Trio will be performing on the Table Rock Stage from 6 to 7 p.m. 

Watch video of Time for Three:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive