Thursday, May 19, 2011

Maestro Heatherington brings you Schubert 
and Mendelssohn with the Lake Forest Symphony
and the Chicago Master Singers!
Somewhere on every music lover's list of favorite works 
is always Schubert's "Unfinished" symphony, one of those 
works that cannot be played or heard often enough. 
But the real gem on this extraordinary concert is 
Mendelssohn's Lobgesang, a work that has not been 
heard in Chicago since a Ravinia performance led by 
Ricardo Chailly years ago. This astonishing work deserves 
a place alongside Elijah as one of the greatest choral/orchestral 
works of the entire 19th century. Don't miss an opportunity to 
hear it with the Lake Forest Symphony, Maestro Heatherington, 
brilliant soloists and the Chicago Master Singers!

Friday, May 20th at 8:00 PM
Saturday, May 21st at 8:00 PM

FREE pre-concert lecture by Jim Kendros at 7:00 PM

SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8 ("Unfinished")

MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No. 2 ("Lobgesang")
with soloists Michelle Areyzaga and Tricia Melzer-Swaydrak, sopranos; 

Kurt R. Hansen, tenor; and the Chicago Master Singers

James Lumber Center for the Performing Arts
Conviently located at the College of Lake County
19351 West Washington Street, Grayslake
Ample free parking!

BOX OFFICE: 847 295-2135 or 

order online:

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Rachleff Conducts Brahms and Beethoven
May 15, 2011, 7:00 pm.
Larry Rachleff, Conductor and Music Director
Music Director Larry Rachleff returns to end the season in a blaze of excitement with Brahms' Symphony No. 1. 
Internationally-renowned pianist Jeffrey Siegel is featured in Beethoven's "Emperor" Piano Concerto No. 5 in E Flat Major.  


Larry Rachleff                   Jeffrey Siegel
Principal Conductor             Guest Soloist
and Music Director

Pick-Staiger Hall
Northwestern University Campus
50 Arts Circle Drive
Evanston, IL  60201

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Enjoy the music of

with Metropolis Chamber Orchestra

Baker Memorial United Methodist Church
307 Cedar Ave.
St. Charles [Map]

FREE pre-concert talk with Dr. Jonathan Saylor,
Wheaton College Professor of Music History at 7 pm

Concert program:
Exsultate, Jubilate, K. 165: Kimberly McCord, soprano

Vesperae solennes de Dominica, K. 321

Sinfonia Concertante for Winds and Orchestra, K. 297b: Deb Stevenson, oboeWagner Campos, clarinetJonathan Saylor, bassoonDaniel O'Connell, horn

March, K. 62

We are also do a repeat performance on Sunday at...

Sunday, May 15, 2011, 2:30pm

I am having a lot of fun playing my single valve section and Bach 2G on Vesperae solennes de Dominica.  Looking forward to hearing my colleagues perform Sinfonia Concertante for Winds tonight!

Blog Archive