Saturday, November 07, 2009

ESO performs new work
by Michael Daugherty this weekend

Letters From Lincoln was co-commissioned by the Elgin Symphony Orchestra and the Spokane Symphony in celebration of the 200th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln's birth. This work will feature baritone, Robert Orth singing the words of Abraham Lincoln. The ESO has performed other works by Michael Daugherty in the recent past, including Flamingo and Metropolis Symphony.

The rest of the program will be filled out by the works of Franz Liszt (Les Preludes & Hungarian March) and Franz Schubert's Unfinished Symphony. Robert Orth will also perform Schubert's Erlkonig (orchestrated by Liszt) and Der Neugierige, from Die schone Mullerin (orchestrated by ESO music director Robert Hanson).

Saturday, November 7 - 8:00pm

Sunday, November 8 - 3:30pm


Les Preludes

Letters from Lincoln

Schubert Symphony in B minor,

Schubert/Liszt Lieder

Liszt Hungarian March

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive